Vos elected to 6th session as Assembly speaker, August to serve as majority leader

MADISON, Wis. — Fresh off his win over Republican and Democratic write-in challengers, Assembly Speaker Robin Vos was re-elected Thursday to lead the Legislature’s lower chamber in the 2023-2023 legislative session.

The upcoming session will mark Vos’ sixth as Assembly speaker, making him the longest-serving speaker in the state.

“I’m honored that my colleagues have re-elected me to serve as the Speaker of the Wisconsin State Assembly, Vos (R-Rochester) said in a statement. “I look forward to leading our 64-member majority and defending conservative principles in the Legislature during these next four years of divided government. We will continue to hold the line against (Democratic Gov.) Tony (Evers) when he attempts to enact his far-left policies.”

Republicans in the Assembly also elected Rep. Tyler August (R-Lake Geneva) to serve as majority leader, replacing Rep. Jim Steineke, who did not run for another term in the Legislature.

For the Record: ‘Fringe voices’: Rep. Jim Steineke on state of politics as he prepares to leave legislature

Rep. Kevin Petersen (R-Waupaca) will serve as speaker pro tempore — the post previously held by August — and Rep. Jon Plumer (R-Lodi) will serve as assistant majority leader, Petersen’s former role.

Republicans narrowly missed winning a supermajority in the Assembly, which would have allowed them to override any potential vetoes by Evers.

On the Senate side, Sen. Devin LeMahieu (R-Oostburg) was re-elected majority leader. Sen. Melissa Agard, meanwhile, has launched a bid to become the upper chamber’s minority leader, replacing retiring Sen. Janet Bewley (D-Mason).