Power takes the checkered flag at Indy 500

Australian Will Power and Team Penske managed the hot temperatures and multiple yellow flags to win the 102nd Running of the Indianapolis 500.

Power took the lead with five laps to go when leader Stefan Wilson was forced to make a pit stop for more fuel.

Power immediately took control of the race and never wavered during the final laps. Polesitter Ed Carpenter finished in second place more than 3 seconds behind the winner. Scott Dixon finished third.

Much of the pre-race attention was paid to Danica Patrick, who announced the Indy 500 would be her final race. She finished seventh in qualifying and started in the third row. Patrick said she felt she had an excellent chance to win in her last scheduled professional race.

But those hopes ended on Lap 68 when she lost control coming out of Turn 2 and spun out crashing into the wall. She finished 30th.

“I’m not really sure what happened,” she told reporters after being checked out at the infield medical center. “It just seemed to come around. I mean, today was really disappointing for what we were hoping for and what you want for your last race. I’m grateful for all of it. I wish I could have finished stronger.”

Patrick hadn’t competed in the 500 since leaving for NASCAR after the 2011 IndyCar season. She recorded six top-10 finishes in her eight attempts at Indy.

Three-time Indy winner Helio Castroneves also made an early exit after crashing on Lap 147. Fellow Brazilian and 2013 500 winner Tony Kanaan crashed on Lap 188. Kanaan was an early leader in the race.

Defending champion Takuma Sato of Japan collided with Jay Davison in Turn 3 of Lap 47 taking both of them out of the race.