3 new alders sworn in to fill vacancies on Madison Common Council

City County Building

MADISON, Wis. — Three new members of the Madison Common Council were officially sworn in on Tuesday night to fill the vacancies prompted by a trio of alders stepping down last month.

During the council’s meeting, alders voted unanimously to appoint Bill Tishler and Matt Phair to fill vacancies in District 11 and District 20, respectively.

Tishler introduced himself during the meeting as a resident of Madison for more than 50 years. Phair previously represented District 20 for four terms before announcing in 2018 that he would not seek re-election.

Tishler replaces Ald. Arvina Martin, who resigned effective May 25 to focus on her family and her personal life. Martin was first elected to represent the near west side on the council in April 2017 and served as its vice president for much of 2021 and part of 2022.

RELATED: Madison city council, Dane County board elect new leadership

Phair, meanwhile, takes over for Ald. Christian Albouras to represent parts of Madison’s west and southwest sides. Albouras, who was first elected in April 2019, resigned effective May 20 after announcing he was moving out of his district.

Ald. Erik Paulson was also sworn in Tuesday to represent District 3. Ald. Lindsay Lemmer, who was first elected in April 2019 and formerly represented the east side district, stepped down effective May 11 after taking a new job.

Last month, the council’s executive committee recommended Paulson to fill Lemmer’s seat after reviewing half a dozen candidates. He took over the seat on May 25.

All three new alders will serve until the spring 2023 election.