11 new principals appointed to Madison schools

MMSD release slideshow with updated information on the upcoming school year

Madison Metropolitan School District officials announced 11 new principals for next school year Wednesday.

All new principals went through a selection process where they had to demonstrate the key skills principals need to succeed, according to a release. After making it through the screening process, candidates met with community panels to help determine the best fit for each school.

Britta Hanson, Crestwood Elementary School
Sylla Zarov, Franklin Elementary School Salvador Velasco, Lindbergh Elementary School
Deborah Lyons, Olson Elementary School Kenya Walker, Blackhawk Middle School Jessica Taylor, Hamilton Middle School Issac Kirkwood, interim principal at Jefferson Middle School Kristin Foreman, Sherman Middle School Mike Hernandez, East High School Karyn Stocks-Glover, Innovative and Alternative Programs Sean Storch, La Follette High School

Pending school board approval, all candidates will start July 1.